## MEDINA COUNTY DISTRICT LIBRARY MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING

August 22, 2005

The Medina County District Library Board of Trustees met in a special session on Monday, August 22, 2005 at 5:00 pm at the Medina Library in the Annex Building.

<u>Roll Call</u> was taken with the following members noted as present: Philip Duke, Michael Tefs, Karen Hammon, Thomas Horwedel, Patricia Walker and Shereen Lakhani. Library **Staff** members present were Mike Harris, Director; Brian Hertzel, Business Manager; and Elaine Frankowski.

A motion was made by Thomas Horwedel and seconded by Patricia Walker to approve the **Agenda** as distributed.

Approval of Contract Award For Medina Library, Phase 1. A recommended resolution was presented to approve the awarding of the demolition contract for the Medina Library, based upon recommendation from the Construction Manager, The Ruhlin Company, and the Project Architect, David Milling & Associates Architects. The contract involves demolition of all buildings other than the existing library, as well as interior demolition of appropriate areas of the Sylvester Library, as specified in the bid scope of The Ruhlin Company. The bid recommended by the Ruhlin Company is well under the original estimated cost of the project. **RESOLUTION 05-32** – Upon motion made by Karen Hammon and seconded by Michael Tefs, it was RESOLVED: That the Medina County District Board of Trustees, Upon Recommendation from the Construction Manager, The Ruhlin Company, and the Project Architect, David Milling & Associates Architects, The Medina County District Library Board of Trustees hereby authorizes the award of a contract for demolition in accordance with the Construction Documents prepared by David Milling & Associates Architects and per the Bid Scopes indicated, and authorizes The Ruhin Company to prepare Owner-Contractor Agreements for Construction for signature for the Contract. The roll call vote was as follows: Michael Tefs - aye, Karen Hammon - aye, Thomas Horwedel - aye, Patricia Walker - aye, Shereen Lakhani - aye and Philip Duke - aye.

There was no need of an Executive Session.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:06 pm upon motion made by Karen Hammon and seconded by Patricia Walker. The vote was as follows: Michael Tefs - aye, Karen Hammon - aye, Thomas Horwedel - aye, Patricia Walker - aye, Shereen Lakhani - aye and Philip Duke - aye.

NEXT BOARD MEETING  Monday, September 19, 2005, Brunswick Community Library, 7:00 pm				
President	Secretary			